Sunday, December 20, 2009



Performance tips for Windows XP often mention the use of the NTFS file system because it works slightly faster than the FAT32 file system. Besides the performance benefit, you will also enjoy improved stability and security in comparison with the FAT32 file system.
You can convert an existing FAT32 file system to NTFS without data loss, but always remember that older operating systems like Windows 98 cannot work with NTFS.
Proceed with care if you have more than one operating system on your pc.
  • Click on the Start button, right-click "My Computer" and select "Manage"
  • In the navigation pane on the left, expand "storage" and choose "Disk Management"
  • The details on the right will reveal the file system details for each of your drives. Also make a note of the drive's volume name.
To convert a drive's file system :
  • Click the Start button and select "Run"
  • Type "convert d: /fs:ntfs" (without the quotes - replace d: with the drive letter that you want to convert) and click ok
  • A dos box will open and ask for the drive's volume name
  • Enter the volume name and hit the ENTER key
Windows will start the conversion to NTFS and notifies you when it is finished.



The indexing service is a program that indexes files on your computer to speed up search results when you perform a search. It usually wakes up and starts doing it's job when your computer is idle. That's the reason why some pc's hard disks often start making a lot of noise when nobody's working on them.
The indexing service is also mentioned in a lot of performance tips for Windows XP, because it can interfere with your work. If you don't perform a lot of file searches on your pc, you might want to disable the indexing service.
  • Click on the Start button, right click "My Computer" and select "Manage"
  • In the navigation tree at the left, go to the bottom and click the little "+" sign next to "services and applications"
  • Select "Services"
  • In the right Windows pane, scroll to "Indexing service", right click it and select "Properties"
  • Make sure that "Manual" is selected from the drop-down list under "Startup type"


A lot of performance tips for Windows XP talk about the overall sexy-ness of Windows XP and the performance price you have to pay for it. If you are working on an older computer and you care more about speed than graphical coolness of the Windows XP interface, you might want to consider toning down the graphics a bit.
  • Click the Start button, right click "My Computer" and select "Properties"
  • Select the "advanced" tab
  • Under "Performance" click on the "Settings" button
  • Click the "Visual Effects" tab
  • Select the "Adjust for best performance" radio button and click ok
If this change is too radical for you, you can try experimenting with the different individual settings as well.



Windows XP uses a paging file on your hard disk to store information when the amount of available RAM memory isn't sufficient to hold all the data that is being processed. For instance, when you are working on a very large Word document that is too big to fit in your computer's RAM, Windows XP starts swapping part of it's data in and out the paging file on your hard disk.
Hard disk access is typically a lot slower than RAM access, that's why you should optimize your paging file.
  • Click the Start button, right click "My Computer" and select "Properties"
  • Select the "advanced" tab
  • Under "Performance" click on the "Settings" button
  • Again, select the "advanced" tab
  • Under "Virtual Memory" click on the "Change" button
Windows will then show the available hard drives in your computer and the paging file settings for each drive. If you have more than one hard disk, you should place your paging file on another disk than the system disk (where Windows is installed).
That is to avoid contention on the disk controller when Windows is working with system files and the paging file simultaneously.
Usually the system disk is C:, so select any other disk if you have one and then check the "Custom size" radio button. Type in the same value for "Initial size" and "Maximum size", so that Windows doesn't need time to resize the paging file while you are working with your computer. Microsoft recommends about 1.5 times the amount of RAM in your computer. Click the "Set" button to commit the changes you have made.

It is possible to have multiple paging files on multiple disks, but try to avoid having a paging file on your system disk. Just select that disk and select the "No paging file" radio button.


Windows XP chkdsk is a tool available for you in Windows. Everyone should run it from time to time because it can prevent your computer from becoming unstable.
There are different reasons why the data on your hard disk can become corrupt. Windows keeps "meta-data" about each file and every directory on your hard drive in a Master File Table (MFT).
Meta-data is data about the data. Windows needs it to physically locate your files on the hard drive, to know about user access rights for each file and so on.
In some cases, the information in the MFT can become corrupt. This can be the case when your computer experiences a sudden power cut or a system hang. To make things even worse, your hard disk may show signs of wear over time and some sectors may become unreadable.
Windows XP chkdsk is the tool to handle these situations. It can fix logical errors on your hard disk and it can detect bad sectors and flag them so that Windows no longer uses them.
It's a valuable tool, but it has a disadvantage …
… checking and fixing an entire hard disk is a tough job, so chkdsk can take a considerable amount of TIME under certain conditions.
The time needed for chkdsk to run is very hard to predict because it depends on many factors :
  • Overall speed of your pc
  • Number of files and directories on the disk
  • Size of the disk
  • Amount of RAM
  • ...
A gigantic disk with 2 extremely large files will take considerably less time to check than a small disk with 2 million tiny files, but so many other factors are to be considered … never easy to tell.

Windows XP chkdsk wants exclusive access to the computer

Schedule to run chkdsk at a time when you don't need your computer. In most cases chkdsk wants to restart your computer and during the time that it runs, you won't have access to your computer. You can always interrupt chkdsk during its work, but this is certainly not recommended.

How to use Windows XP chkdsk

  • Click the start button
  • Right-click "My Computer" and select "Explore"
  • Right-click the disk you want to check and select "Properties"
  • In the properties dialog click the tab "Tools"
  • Click "check now"
  • The "checking disk" dialog appears, check both options and click start
  • You will probably see a message that chkdsk wants exclusive access to the disk and therefore wants to begin first thing after you restart your computer. Accept by clicking ok.
  • Restart your computer
When your computer restarts you will see chkdsk advancing through several different stages of verification, examining your hard disk. If it detects no errors, Windows will continue to start to your normal desktop. If there are errors, chkdsk presents a report with what it has done and waits for your confirmation.

Why not schedule chkdsk to run while you sleep ?

Note : To schedule a Windows XP chkdsk task with task scheduler you need a Windows administrator account with a non-blank password.
  • In Explorer, navigate to c:\program files
  • If you see a message that this is a folder with hidden files, just click the link to show the files
  • Right-click an empty area in the right part of the Explorer window and select new -> text document
  • Windows creates a file named New Text Document.txt
  • Rename the file to "Restart and perform chkdsk.bat" (without the quotes)
  • Windows warns about changing the filename extension : click yes
  • Right-click your newly created file and select "edit"
  • Windows opens the new blank file in your default text editor : type the following lines and make sure not to press the enter key after the last line
Windows XP chkdsk
  • Save the file and close your text editor
  • Close all other programs except the Eplorer window where the newly created file is listed
  • Double-click the new file and see what happens (don't touch anything from this point on until your computer is ready with chkdsk
Now that you know that your batch file is working it's time to automatically schedule it.
  • Click start -> All Programs -> Accessories -> System Tools -> Scheduled Tasks
  • In the Scheduled Tasks window, double-click "Add Scheduled Task"
  • Click next
  • Click browse
  • Navigate to the Restart and perform chkdsk.bat file that you created in the previous step and click "open"
  • Choose the frequency for this task (monthly would be a good minimum)
  • Enter the day and time to perform the task
  • Enter the (administrator) username and non-blank password (must be non-blank or the task won't run). Be careful to enter the password correctly because Windows doesn't verify it here.
  • Click next and then click finish
Your full-automatic Windows XP chkdsk task is now ready !



With Windows XP you can easily synchronize computer time with internet. If your computer is a member of a domain, you shouldn't have to worry about time synchronization. Probably it synchronizes with a network time server.
If you use your computer at home, there is a good chance that it isn't member of a domain. Even for home and entertainment use, your computer clock should be running accurately. You can set it up so that it always shows the right time.
It's easy.
There are internet time servers that you can use on the internet. If you set up your computer to synchronize with one of those, your computer clock should be fairly accurate.
Double-click the clock in the right-hand corner at the bottom of your screen.
Windows shows the date and time properties dialogClick the "Internet Time" tab (this tab isn't available if your computer is a member of a domain)
Check the "Automatically synchronize with an Internet time server" checkbox
To test if the connection with the time server, click the "Update Now" button
If the synchronization works, you should see a message that the time synchronization was successful.
If the synchronization doesn't work, you can try the server drop-down list to select another time server.

You will also see the date and time of next synchronization in this dialog. Normally your computer synchronizes with the time server once a week. It's really that simple to synchronize computer time with internet.
If synchronization with the time server fails, it could be for one of the following reasons :

  • You don't have an active internet connection. Time synchronization only works if your computer is connected to the internet
  • Some firewalls block time synchronization. Your firewall must not block network time protocol (NTP)
  • The time server is overloaded. If it is too busy, it may not respond in a timely manner. If this is the case, you could try to select another time server
  • The date on your computer is incorrect. Your computer doesn't synchronize its clock if the date is incorrect. Try setting the date correctly.



System Restore in Safe mode can help you restore your computer to a working state when Windows won't start normally. Sometimes your computer suddenly finds itself in a state that Windows doesn't like.
This can happen for a number of reasons. It can be a new device driver that doesn't behave the way Windows wants it to behave, it can be a corrupt system file, or it can be something else.
Bottom line is, if Windows dislikes the situation enough to decide it won't come up, you end up with a computer that doesn't start. You have learned that Windows XP System Restore can help getting your computer back into shape, but what good is System Restore if you can't even get into Windows ?

Introducing System Restore in Safe mode

No need to throw the towel in the ring yet. No need to re-install Windows from scratch or let a techie come over and do it for you. First check if System Restore in Safe mode can reanimate your computer.

How to get into Safe mode ?

When you power-on your pc it performs a number of self-tests. During the POST (Power On Self Test) you usually see your computer counting its memory and displaying hard disk information. As soon as you see the hard disk detection phase on the screen, press and hold the F8 key.
Hold the F8 key until you see the "Windows Advanced Options menu". Use your keyboard up and down arrow keys to select Windows Safe mode. Windows now tries to start with a minimal set of drivers and functionality. All the fun things are left out, but this basic, strapped-down mode may be the only access path to your Windows desktop.
Once you get in, you will notice that Windows is now running in safe mode, because "safe mode" is displayed in the four corners of your screen. You will also notice it by the reduced functionality and display settings.
Do not worry, if everything goes according to plan, this is only temporary. Now that you are in Windows, you can use System Restore to flash your computer back to when it was still working.
Click Start->All Programs->Accessories->System Tools->System Restore.
In the System Restore wizard, check the option to "Restore my computer to an earlier time" and click next.
In the calendar that appears, choose a good restore point and click next. When the operation is complete, your computer will restart and it will tell you that the system was restored.


Windows XP System Restore is a very powerful feature that can save you lots of time and frustration.
  • Create a restore point before you install new software
  • Flashback your computer directly to a restore point
  • Use your computer's last known good configuration.
  • Remark : Windows XP System Restore is pretty powerful, but it is not a replacement for a backup program. It doesn't make backup copies of your files, you still need to do this yourself.
    It does save important information about Windows system files, registry settings, and settings for different users on your pc. That makes Windows XP System Restore a pretty clever tool, providing capabilities to get your digital life back on track when something goes terribly wrong.
    When Windows XP System Restore is activated on your pc (we'll see how to do that in a minute), it creates system restore points automatically :
  • When you install new software (provided that the software behaves properly and warns Windows about its presence)
  • When you install a Windows patch, security update or service pack
  • When you install a non-signed driver
  • Before you restore to a previous restore point
  • Once a day
You can also initiate a manual restore point creation.

Windows XP System Restore for you ?

Suppose you want to install a piece of free software that came with a box of breakfast cereals. Generally not the best idea to keep your computer in good shape, so you manually create a system restore point before the install.
You need to have System Restore turned on on your computer to be able to do this.
See :
How to turn on System Restore and
How to turn off System Restore
Now that you have System Restore enabled, you want to manually create a System Restore Point :
Click start -> All Programs -> Accessories -> System Tools -> System Restore
The Windows XP System Restore wizard appears. Click the option "Create a Restore Point" and click next. The wizard wants a name for your restore point. Don't enter the date here, because Windows keeps track of Restore Point dates automatically. Rather enter something descriptive like "Pre-breakfast cereal software point".
When you have entered the Restore Point Description, click "create".
The wizard may take some time to complete the operation but soon you will see the "Restore Point Created" screen.
That's all there is to it, you just created a System Restore Point. Now you have a safety net available to install new software.
Windows keeps your restore point 90 days or until System Restore runs out of disk space, whichever comes first. The restore data needs to be stored on your hard disk and you can reserve up to 12% of the total capacity on your hard disk for System Restore information.

Use Windows XP System Restore to flash back your pc to a point in time when it was working fine

Suppose that you installed your piece of software and that it isn't what you expected after all. Maybe it even crashed or caused your computer to be instable. Wouldn't it be great if you could just restore your computer to a point back in time when it was still running fine ?
With Windows XP System Restore you can.
If you are restoring your computer because of trouble with a piece of software that you installed, always un-install the program before you run system restore. To do this, click Start -> Control Panel -> Add or Remove Programs and use the program uninstall button.
With that out of the way you are now ready to restore your computer. Note that mail messages, word documents, your internet explorer favorites and personal documents are preserved by system restore. You will still have them after you restored your computer to an earlier point in time.
Just click start -> All Programs -> Accessories -> System Tools -> System Restore
The System Restore wizard appears. Click the "Restore my computer to an earlier time" option and click next.
The System Restore wizard shows a calendar with earlier restore points. Choose a restore point where your computer didn't have problems and click next. The wizard shows the system restore confirmation screen, click next. When the operation is complete, Windows restarts and you will see a message that the system was restored. You can even undo the restoration if you want : if you start system restore a next time, you will see a new option "undo my last restoration".
  •  



How to find a wireless key
We all love it - a wireless network can be extremely convenient, especially in those households that use multiple computers. The hassle of setting up multiple networks, and the clutter from the wires is unnecessary. With a wireless network, everyone in the home can log on to internet without these headaches.
Eventually the time will come that you need the network key again. Maybe you are adding another computer to the network. Many times, after reinstalling Windows, the key is needed again. Either way knowing that you can find a wireless key which is hidden on your computer will relieve a lot of undue stress.
There are safe ways of storing your network key, but should the time come that you have forgotten where you hid the key, not all is at a loss. There is a solution without spending hundreds of dollars on bringing a computer technician to the home. Wireless Key Viewer safely recovers and stores all network keys utilizing the "Wireless Zero Configuration" of Windows XP and the "WLAN AutoConfig" of Windows Vista.
Using wireless key viewer to find a wireless key is free. It is not one of those additional programs that are purchased outside, intended to reach into your pocket further or even be sold as part of a software package.
The Wireless Key Viewer is not even something that you need to install. Simply copy the file "WirelessKeyView.exe" and save it to a location on your hard. Once this is done, you may run the program, and the main window will appear. This main window will display the network keys that are being used on your computer. Please note that only those keys that are being used by Windows will be displayed. This tool will not recover those network keys that are stored by third party programs.
There are other perks that come along with the Wireless Key Viewer. You can safely delete inactive Wireless Keys of old Network Adapters, and even translate it to a desired language.



The Windows XP System Properties logo is often changed by computer manufacturers. Hardware vendors use this general system information dialog to brand your computer with their own logo and support contact information.
In this tip you can learn how you can insert your own logo in the system properties dialog and complete it with your own contact information.
To invoke the system properties dialog, click the Start button, right-click "My Computer" and select "Properties".
This will open up your general system information dialog. On our Fujitsu-Siemens Amilo Pro laptop, the Windows XP System Properties logo looks like this :
If you want to put your own graphic in there, you should create your image in a .bmp graphic file. It's also a good idea to create this bitmap image with the same background shade of gray (RGB: 192, 192, 192) used in the Properties dialog. Otherwise, you risk letting Windows make its own judgments regarding color contrast and background shading.
The next thing to consider is the image size. The system properties dialog only offers enough real estate for an image of about 180 (wide) x120 (high) pixels. Make sure that you can fit your logo in this area.
Once you have created your logo and saved it as a .bmp file, copy it over to the system32 subfolder of your Windows system folder. If you don't know where your system folder is :
  • Click the Start button and select "Run"
  • In the "open" field, enter "cmd" (without the quotes) and click ok
  • Windows will open up a dos command window
  • In the command window, type "set system" (without the quotes)
  • Look for the line that contains "SystemRoot", this is where your system directory is (generally, the Windows XP system folder is c:\windows)
Now that you know where your system folder is, copy your logo image file over to the system32 subfolder of your system folder. Then rename your logo image file to oemlogo.bmp
Additionally you can create a new file in this same folder and name the new file oeminfo.ini
In this file you can enter your contact information.
Save and close the file and you are ready. From now on, if someone opens up the system properties dialog, your own Windows XP System Properties logo is in there.
If you want to put your own graphic in there, you should create your image in a .bmp graphic file. It's also a good idea to create this bitmap image with the same background shade of gray (RGB: 192, 192, 192) used in the Properties dialog. Otherwise, you risk letting Windows make its own judgments regarding color contrast and background shading.
The next thing to consider is the image size. The system properties dialog only offers enough real estate for an image of about 180 (wide) x120 (high) pixels. Make sure that you can fit your logo in this area.
Once you have created your logo and saved it as a .bmp file, copy it over to the system32 subfolder of your Windows system folder. If you don't know where your system folder is :
  • Click the Start button and select "Run"
  • In the "open" field, enter "cmd" (without the quotes) and click ok
  • Windows will open up a dos command window
  • In the command window, type "set system" (without the quotes)
  • Look for the line that contains "SystemRoot", this is where your system directory is (generally, the Windows XP system folder is c:\windows)
Now that you know where your system folder is, copy your logo image file over to the system32 subfolder of your system folder. Then rename your logo image file to oemlogo.bmp
Additionally you can create a new file in this same folder and name the new file oeminfo.ini
In this file you can enter your contact information like in the example below :
[General]

Save and close the file and you are ready. From now on, if someone opens up the system properties dialog, your own Windows XP System Properties logo is in there. And if someone clicks the "Support Information" button :


You may experience Windows XP slow shutdown sequences when something is wrong with your Windows installation. Shutdown problems are one of the most common computer problems.
It may be a small comfort, but one thing is for sure : if you are experiencing shutdown problems, you are not alone.
Some of the symptoms that may occur :
  1. Slow shutdown
  2. Shutdown seems to hang
  3. Computer reboots instead of shutdown
These problems often remain unsolved for several reasons. Most of the time it only slows you down, but you can still work on your computer. Most people don't even try to solve it because they think it requires expert skills to fix Windows XP slow shutdown situations.
Don't be like most people.
Troubleshooting Windows XP slow shutdown sequences can be a lot easier than you think.

Your computer reboots rather than shutting down

A lot of computers with shutdown problems do this. It's because Windows XP has a default setting to reboot the computer in the event of a system crash. When something goes wrong during the shutdown event, Windows may think that it crashed and restarts your computer.
First thing to do when this happens to your computer is configure Windows so that it doesn't automatically restart after a critical failure :
  1. Click the start button, right-click "My Computer" and select properties
  2. Click the "advanced" tab
  3. In the "Startup and Recovery" section, click the "settings" button
  4. The "Startup and Recovery" dialog appears
  5. In the "System failure" section, deselect the "Automatically restart" checkbox
  6. Click ok
  7. Click ok
  8. Turn off the auto-reboot option to prevent reboot instead of shutdown

    This workaround prevents your computer from rebooting during shutdown, but unfortunately it doesn't take away the root cause of the failure. Here are some other steps that you can try to solve the underlying problem.
     





If you don't see the QLT on your taskbar, right-click an empty spot on your taskbar and select toolbars->Quick Launch.
Maybe the QLT doesn't show the icons you want. You can add programs to your QLT like this :
  • Click start->all programs and navigate to the program you want to add
  • right-click this program and drag it to the QLT
  • you will see an l-shaped cursor where Windows will insert the icon when you release the mouse button
  • after you release the mouse button, select "copy here"
Don't select "move here" because doing so will remove the program from its original location under all programs.
To remove an icon from the Quick Launch toolbar, right-click it and select delete. This will only remove the icon from the QLT, not from your computer.
You will notice pretty soon that the space on the QLT is fairly limited. To enlarge it, move your mouse pointer over the vertical dotted pattern just to the right from the QLT until it changes into a double arrow and then drag the handle to the right. If you don't see the dotted pattern, you need to unlock the taskbar first. Right click an empty space on the taskbar and select "Lock the taskbar" if there is a checkmark.



Occasionally your PC will seem slow, as though something is using all your CPU time, but the regular CPU column won't display an obvious candidate. So what's going on?
Launch Task Manager, and click the Performance tab to see a graph of your CPU Usage History: it's pretty, but there's more to it than that. Click View and select Show Kernel Times (so it's checked). What you'll now see is two graph lines: one green, representing total CPU utilisation, and one red, representing the time consumed by the kernel.
When the green peaks are high, red peaks low then the culprit is a user mode process, probably just a regular application. But if the red peaks are consistently high then that shows your CPU time is being grabbed by something in the kernel, probably a driver, but perhaps also a Windows component, maybe even some deeply embedded malware.
FIND THE CULPRIT: Is a buggy driver grabbing too much CPU time? The Performance graph can offer useful clues
*. Create a dump file
If a program has locked up then you may able to use the Windows debbing tolls to find out why.
Launch Task Manager first, click the Processes tab, right-click the hung process and select Create Dump File. When the process file has been written then Task Manager will give you its name and location.
Then launch the debugger WinDbg, and click File > Open Crash Dump File. Entering the analyze -hang command may tell you more about why a program has locked up, and if not then you can always use other debugger commands to tell you more about the process, its use of RAM, and so on (see the debugger documentation for details).
*. Control your services
If you need to stop or start a Windows service then you could launch the Services applet (services.msc). But why bother? In Windows Vista or 7 it's much quicker to do it from Task Manager. Just click the Services tab, right-click the service you need, and choose the Start or Stop option.
Be careful, though - stopping a critical Windows service can result in your PC locking up immediately (and tinkering with some third-party services is almost as serious). Don't try this unless you know exactly what you're doing.
*. Restart Explorer
Have the taskbar and desktop disappeared for no apparent reason? Explorer has probably crashed: press Ctrl+Shift+Esc and press the Processes tab to check for yourself. If Explorer.exe isn't listed then click File > New Task, type Explorer.exe and click OK to restart it.
Or, if Explorer won't start, your system is generally trashed and you'd like to reboot gracefully, then enter the command shutdown -r and your system should restart.
*. Discover system information
Launching Task Manager and clicking the Performance tab will reveal the total amount of RAM installed in your PC (check the Total in the Physical Memory box).
And the Up Time figure in the System Box tells you how long it's been since you last restarted Windows. The longer this is, the more likely that resource leaks or other issues will begin to cause problems. If your PC's been running for several days, and you're noticing odd behaviour, then consider rebooting - it just might help.
*. Monitor network utilisation
Click the Task Manager Networking tab and you'll see a graph that tracks your current network use over time. This can be useful if you've a network-hogging process that fires on a regular basis, for instance, as you should see a spike on the chart.
Click Options > Tab Always Active if you want Task Manager to keep collecting network usage data, even when the tab isn't displayed. Click View > Update Speed > Low to reduce the sampling time, which allows you to squeeze more minutes of activity onto a single screen. And click View > Network Adapter History to choose exactly what you'd like to graph: the bytes sent, received, or their total.
*. Talk to network users
If you're working on a networked PC then you may want to warn anyone browsing your system that you're about to reboot, close a process or do something else potentially dodgy. Click the Users tab to see who else is connected to your PC right now. By default you'll only see their user name - click Options > Show Full Account Name to see their network PC name, too. Then right-click a user and select Send Message to issue a warning, or Disconnect to kick them off immediately.
* Use something better
Learning the Task Manager basics is important, as they'll let you diagnose problems on just about any PC. But the tool can only take you so far, and for really in-depth information and control over your applications you'll want to use something better. Process explorer is the best known alternative and an excellent tool, but Process hacker is also worth a look - if anything, it's even more powerful.
PRO TOOL: Process Hacker provides great control over everything running on your PC




The notification area is the collection of small icons near your system clock, in the bottom-right corner of your screen. After you've used your computer for a few months, the notification area can become cluttered with icons for different programs you may have installed. Each icon takes up space on your Microsoft Windows XP taskbar, which leaves less room for your program buttons.
Fortunately, you can free up space in the notification area by hiding icons that you don't use very often.
To organize your notification area

1.
Right-click the system clock, and then click Properties on the shortcut menu.

2.
In the Taskbar and Start Menu Properties dialog box, click Customize.
3.
The Customize Notifications dialog box appears. For each icon you want to hide, click the Behavior list, and then click Always hide. For each icon you want to always show, click the Behavior list, and then click Always show.
4.
Click OK twice.
Your notification area will be much less crowded, giving you more room for program buttons on your taskbar. To show the icons you have hidden, click the left arrow beside the notification area.




When you use the Cut or Copy command on the Edit menu, the material you cut or copy is automatically copied to the Clipboard. The Clipboard is a temporary holding area for the items you've cut or copied. You can use the ClipBook Viewer to see the information that you've copied to the Clipboard.

You can also store information permanently in your local ClipBook and share it with other users. The local ClipBook opens when you start ClipBook Viewer.

The ClipBook Viewer isn't listed in the Start menu in Microsoft Windows XP, so if you want quick access to it, just create a shortcut on your desktop.

To open the ClipBook View
1.Right-click your desktop, point to New, and then click Shortcut.\
2.
In the location field, type %windir%\system32\clipbrd.exe
3.
Click Next.
4.
Click Finish.
5.
Now you can double-click the clipbrd shortcut on your desktop to launch the ClipBook Viewer.


At first glance Task Manager looks like nothing more than a geeky way to tell you what you already know, the names of the programs running on your PC.
Explore out favourite Task Manager tricks, though, and you'll find all kinds of options for monitoring your system, detecting and resolving problems, especially in its most modern Windows Vista/Windows 7 incarnation. Here's what you need to know.
1. Browse your processes
Press Ctrl+Shift+Esc to launch Task Manager. By default the first thing you'll see is the Applications tab, but this is misleadingly named and of little much use as it just lists top-level windows. If you want to see what's actually running on your PC then click the Processes tab, click "Show processes from all users", and scroll down the list. If you don't know what a process is then right-click it and select Properties to get more information, such as the folder where it's stored, which will usually offer additional clues.
2. Troubleshoot startup problems
Windows Media Player is known to crash from time to time (you may have noticed this). Occasionally it'll crash without having any visible window, though, so you won't see there's a problem. Then, when you come to restart the program, nothing will happen because it's blocked by the crashed copy in RAM.
If you find Windows Media Player won't launch, then, fire up Task Manager, click the Processes tab and look for a WMPlayer.exe process. If you find one, and there's no window, then it's probably crashed. Right-click it in Task Manager, select End Process, and once it's shut down you should be able to start Media Player as normal.
Much the same problem can happen with other applications, so if something won't start, or is just misbehaving, then it's always a good idea to look for previous instances of the program. Don't use the "End Process" on anything unless you're 110% sure that it's safe to do so, though - terminating something system-critical can lock up or crash your PC immediately.
3. View memory use
It's often interesting to see which programs are using all your RAM. To find out, click the Processes tab, then click View > Select Columns, and ensure Memory - Working Set and Memory - Private Working Set are checked. You'll now see two estimates for your processes use of RAM.
The first, "Memory - Working Set" shows you how much physical memory is currently being taken up by each process. Some of this RAM may be shared by other processes, though (shared DLLS, for instance) so this figure tends to overestimate memory use.
The second, "Memory - Private Working Set" shows you how much physical memory this process alone is using (that is, it can't shared with anyone else). It will almost certainly consume additional RAM, though, so this figure tends to underestimate memory use. It's a little more reliable than the Working Set alone, but really you need to see both.
Now click the "Memory (Private Working Set)" column header so the largest figures are at the top. You'll immediately get a good feel for where your RAM is going, and which programs (if any) you need to close or tweak to get some of it back.
RAM HOGS: Find out which programs are hogging your RAM in seconds
4. Identify RAM-hogging services
Your list of processes should contain many called svchost.exe (if not, then you've not clicked "Show processes from all users"). This is the service host, a process that's used to run several Windows services. But what if this turns out to be grabbing large amounts of RAM? Which services might be to blame?
To find out more, right-click a particular svchost.exe and select Go To Services. Task Manager will open the Services tab and all the services managed by this particular instance of svchost.exe will be highlighted. Task Manager has no way to tell you how much each RAM each of the services are consuming individually, unfortunately, but this does at least greatly reduce your options. (And a hint: in most Windows Vista installations, ReadyBoost is by far the greatest resource-hogging service.)
5. Diagnose disk thrashing
Ever wondered exactly why your hard drive's been thrashing for ages, even though there's no-one at the PC? Click the Task Manager Processes tab, then click View > Select Columns, and check I/O Read Bytes and I/O Write Bytes. Click OK.
The new columns will show you the total amount of data read or written by a process, which applies to network activity as well as your hard drive. The busiest processes will have the largest figures, and if a process is active now then its totals will tick up as you watch.
6. Spot resource leaks
Sometimes processes grab more and more Windows resources, without ever quite getting around to releasing them. 32-bit Windows in particular has only a limited supply, and if this goes on for too long then your PC will become unreliable, then eventually lock up or crash.
Task Manager can help you spot a resource leak, though. Click the Processes tab, then click View > Select Columns, check Handles, User Objects and GDI Objects, and click OK. Now check these occasionally, along with the memory figures we mentioned earlier. Some of these may rise dramatically, on occasions - an antivirus tool will use many more handles when scanning, for instance, as they're used when accessing files - but if a particular resource figure is high, keeps rising, and never falls back to its starting point, then you may have a problem.
7. Stop a runaway process
If a particular process has gone rogue, using all your CPU time and reducing everything else to a crawl, then Task Manager may be able to help.
First, press Ctrl+Shift+Esc and wait for Task Manager to appear. If your runaway process is completely tying up the CPU then this can take a while, but if you don't want to reboot (you've an application with unsaved data, say) then be patient. We'd give it at least 10 or 15 minutes.
When Task Manager appears, look for the process consuming all your CPU time (click Processes, then click View > Select Columns and check CPU if that column isn't displayed). If you want to kill the process completely, then you could right-click it, select End Process and it'll die (most of the time).
This doesn't always work out as you expect, though. If the process is system-critical, maybe a Windows component, then terminating it may crash your system immediately (and it always introduces a risk of system instability). If you've data you need to save elsewhere then it may be better to try and slow down the rogue process, reduce its grab on your resources, so you can use other programs again and close everything down properly. Fortunately Task Manager can help here, too.
Right-click your CPU-hogging process, select Set Priority > Low, and Windows should immediately give more CPU time to just about everything else on your PC. The program will still be running, it just shouldn't interfere with other apps to the same degree, and they should be accessible again.
If there are still problems, right-click the process and select Set Affinity. This option lets you decide which CPU cores a process can use. If you clear one of these then that core will become available to other applications, which should significantly improve their performance.



You can save electricity and reduce your impact on the environment by activating your monitor’s sleep feature in Microsoft Windows XP. Activating sleep settings on just one computer may prevent considerable CO2 emissions each year. Letting your monitor sleep allows it to go into a low-power mode when you’re not using it. To wake your monitor, you simply touch your mouse or keyboard.
To set Windows XP to automatically turn your monitor off when your computer isn’t being used
1.
Right-click the desktop, and then click Properties.
2.
In the Display Properties dialog box, click the Screen Saver tab. Then, click the Power button.
3.
In the Power Options Properties dialog box, click the Turn off monitor list, and select a time to automatically turn off your monitor. Five minutes is a realistic setting. If you have a portable computer, set the time for both Plugged in and Running on batteries.
4.
Click OK twice.
Windows XP will let your monitor sleep after your computer has been idle for the specified number of minutes. To reactivate your monitor, move your mouse, or press a key. You’ll save almost as much power as if you had manually turned your monitor off, but you won’t have to press your monitor’s power button.





If you add short cuts to your desktop to launch programs or to open folders, your desktop could quickly become filled with icons. If you'd like more icons to fit on your desktop, you can adjust the spacing between them so that they sit closer together.
To adjust the vertical space between icons
1.
Right-click the desktop, and then click Properties.
2.
In the Display Properties dialog box, click the Appearance tab. Then, click Advanced
3.
Click the Item list, and then click Icon Spacing (Vertical).
4.
In the Size box, decrease the number to move icons closer together, or increase the number to add space between icons. (The smaller the number, the less space there will be between the icons. Conversely, the larger the number, the greater the space will be between the icons.)
5.
Click OK.
6.
To change the spacing for your existing desktop icons to the spacing you specified in step 4, right-click your desktop, click Arrange Icons By on the shortcut menu, and then click Align to Grid.
7.
Next, right-click your desktop, click Arrange Icons By on the shortcut menu, and then click Auto Arrange.
Microsoft Windows XP arranges your desktop using the new icon spacing you specified. Repeat steps 6 and 7 to return your desktop settings to their original state.
On a monitor with 800 × 600 resolution, changing the default icon spacing from 43 to 39 squeezes eight icons into each column, up from the original seven icons.


The problem with most search engine optimisation advice is that it effectively tells you to tear down your site and start again.
Does it really have to be that drastic? While any site benefits from having SEO in mind at the time of its design, there are some tweaks and tune-ups you can do to any site, quickly and easily.
They won't get you to the top of Google's results page overnight - but in the pitiless world of PageRank, the only way is up.
1. Use meaningful document names
Give pages descriptive file names that search engines can follow - like, "galleryofillustrations.html", for example. Your CMS, if you're using one, will probably allow you to configure this automatically in your main settings.In Wordpress go to Settings > Permalinks and clicking "custom structure". Define a structure that includes the page title, using the %postname% tag.
GOOD URLS: When creating Permalinks in Wordpress, combine the descriptive post name with a unique tag, like the post's ID number
2. Speed up your site
Google software engineer Matt Cutts recently told Web pro news that site speed will be added to the criteria that affects your site's PageRank in 2010.
Easiest way to quicken up your site? Make sure you're using the right image types: JPEG for photos, PNG for graphics - and that their file size is as small as you can get away with without compromising quality.
3. Grow inbound links
Google, Bing, Ask and Yahoo - none of them publish a list of the rules they use to rank your sites. We do know that good quality, incoming links are a factor, though. So mention your site on Twitter, put it in your email signature, add it to social networks you use and get your friends to blog about your site.
4. Sign up for Google Analytics
google analytic is more than a log reading tool. It enables you to set goals, track conversions, see entry and exit pages and catalogue keywords. Add it, give it a week or two to work its mojo and you'll soon be bursting with site optimisation ideas.
5. Add popular pages to your sidebar
Using Google Analytics, or whatever traffic measurement comes bundled with your account, you can see which pages attract the most attention. Give people more of what they want. Add links to your most popular content to your sidebar. On Wordpress there's a popular post plug in that'll do it for you.
6. Put up signposts
Another analytics inspired tweak. Think about where you need users to go and give them a clear way to get there. You want people to find a picture gallery or a contact form? Add it to your main navigation as near to the top of your content as possible. If users can find it easily, so can a search engine.
7. Build a better landing page
Does your site have a lovely splash page filled with a nice big logo? Get rid of it. The landing page for your site should assure search engines it's the one of the best hits for the topic users have searched for. That means relevant, textual content filling up your front page.
8. Add "alt" text to images
Search engines can't see pictures, so you have to describe them. Required for your site to pass as valid HTML, make sure that all images have short but accurate "alt" text. While you're at it, add the "title" attribute to links, with a brief description.
GOOD URLS: When creating Permalinks in Wordpress, combine the descriptive post name with a unique tag, like the post's ID number
2. Speed up your site
Google software engineer Matt Cutts recently told Web pro news  that site speed will be added to the criteria that affects your site's PageRank in 2010.
Easiest way to quicken up your site? Make sure you're using the right image types: JPEG for photos, PNG for graphics - and that their file size is as small as you can get away with without compromising quality.
3. Grow inbound links
Google, Bing, Ask and Yahoo - none of them publish a list of the rules they use to rank your sites. We do know that good quality, incoming links are a factor, though. So mention your site on Twitter, put it in your email signature, add it to social networks you use and get your friends to blog about your site.
4. Sign up for Google Analytics
Goggle analytic is more than a log reading tool. It enables you to set goals, track conversions, see entry and exit pages and catalogue keywords. Add it, give it a week or two to work its mojo and you'll soon be bursting with site optimisation ideas.
5. Add popular pages to your sidebar
Using Google Analytics, or whatever traffic measurement comes bundled with your account, you can see which pages attract the most attention. Give people more of what they want. Add links to your most popular content to your sidebar. On Wordpress there's a popular post plug in that'll do it for you.
6. Put up signposts
Another analytics inspired tweak. Think about where you need users to go and give them a clear way to get there. You want people to find a picture gallery or a contact form? Add it to your main navigation as near to the top of your content as possible. If users can find it easily, so can a search engine.
7. Build a better landing page
Does your site have a lovely splash page filled with a nice big logo? Get rid of it. The landing page for your site should assure search engines it's the one of the best hits for the topic users have searched for. That means relevant, textual content filling up your front page.
8. Add "alt" text to images
Search engines can't see pictures, so you have to describe them. Required for your site to pass as valid HTML, make sure that all images have short but accurate "alt" text. While you're at it, add the "title" attribute to links, with a brief description.
TEXT ONLY: Got a static HTML site? See it like search engines see it - with a text based web browser like Lynx
9. Ditch Flash navigation
Though some content in Shockwave Flash can be indexed now, it's best to make it as easy as possible for search engine spiders to find the links in your site. So, plain text links wherever possible please.
10. Make your site hypertextual
Internal references to similar content within your site will help search engine spiders determine relevance. Add links to existing entries in the body of your pages - or as a "now read this" recommendation at the end of a post. You'll improve both user experience and ranking.


Computers, like any appliance, can break down or fail. To protect your important files from computer failure, you should make backup copies of your files. Each edition of Microsoft Windows XP—except Windows XP Home Edition—includes Windows Backup, a program that helps you save your files to an external disk. If you use Windows XP Home Edition, you can manually install Windows Backup.
To manually install Windows Backup
1.
Insert your Windows XP CD into your CD drive. If Windows XP Setup does not appear after several seconds, open My Computer, right-click your CD drive, and then click AutoPlay.
2.
In the Welcome to Microsoft Windows XP window, click Perform additional tasks.
3.
Click Browse this CD.
4.
Double-click VALUEADD, double-click MSFT, and then double-click NTBACKUP to open the \VALUEADD\MSFT\NTBACKUP folder.
5.
In the NTBACKUP folder, double-click NTBACKUP.
6.
After setup is complete, click Finish.
You can now start Windows Backup by clicking Start, pointing to All Programs, pointing to Accessories, pointing to System Tools, and then clicking Backup. For more information about protecting your files from computer failure.




Finding programs on your All Programs menu can become difficult if you have a lot of programs installed. When you install new programs, Microsoft Windows XP adds each new item to the end of the All Programs menu. You can, however, quickly sort the items on your All Programs menu in alphabetical order.
To sort items on your All Programs menu alphabetically
1.
Click Start, click All Programs, and then right-click any folder or icon.
2.
On the shortcut menu, click Sort by Name.
That's it—your programs are instantly alphabetized. Enjoy your newly organized All Programs menu.
This same tip works for your Favorites menu in Internet Explorer. In both cases, you'll probably need to go back periodically and sort the lists again, because Windows XP doesn't automatically keep the list in alphabetical order.



Keyboard shortcuts can save you a lot of time by putting files or commands you use often right at your fingertips. Some keyboard shortcuts, however, require you to hold down three keys at a time. If you want to use a keyboard shortcut but find it difficult to hold down two or three keys at the same time, StickyKeys makes it easy. When a shortcut requires a key combination, the StickyKeys feature in Microsoft Windows XP lets you press a key, such as SHIFT, CTRL, or ALT, and keep it active until another key is pressed. StickyKeys is also helpful when you want to type uppercase letters without holding down SHIFT while you press each letter key.
To activate StickyKeys
1.
Press the SHIFT key five times. A dialog box opens with instructions on how to set up the StickyKeys feature.
2.
Click OK.
An icon (a group of squares) appears in the notification area.
With StickyKeys enabled, you can press and release the SHIFT, CTRL, ALT, or Windows logo key, and Windows XP will hold the key down for you until you press the next key. For example, to type a capital A, you could press and release SHIFT, and then press and release the A key.
To turn off StickyKeys, press the SHIFT key five times, and then click Cancel in the StickyKeys dialog box.




By default, each user account in Microsoft Windows XP has a standard picture (such as a chess set, a dog, or an astronaut) associated with it. If you'd like to make the picture more personal, you can add your own image for each account. Changing pictures is fun, and it makes it easier for young children to use your computer.
To change the picture on the Welcome screen.
1.Log on to your computer as an administrator.
2.
Click Start, and then click Control Panel.
3.
Under Pick a category, click User Accounts.
4.
Under or pick an account to change, click the account you want to choose a picture for.
5.
Under What do you want to change..., click Change the picture.
6.
Click Browse for more pictures.
7.
Click the picture you want to display for that account, and then click Open.
Windows XP displays the picture on the Welcome screen for the account you selected. To choose pictures for other accounts, return to step 3.



.



By now, you have a modified explorer sitting in the /inf/ subfolder, so we need to tell Windows to use that one, instead of the original one still resting untouched.
To do this, we need to make just one simple registry modification. To open up the registry, ress start (something else soon ;) ) -> run and type regedit. In the registry editor window that opens, navigate to HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\ SOFTWARE/Microsoft/ Windows NT\ CurrentVersion\ Winlogon and look for the registry entry “shell”. Click it.
Change the explorer.exe to inf/explorer.exe or whereever you saved the modified explorer.
And believe it or not, you’re done! All you have to do now is reboot or log out and bacö in to see the changes. Enjoy your new custom Windows XP start button!





If the warning didn’t scare you enough, then the title of this step probably did. Yes, we are going to change Explorer, the backbone of your Windows XP, but don’t worry. Everything should be safe as long as you follow the steps closely.As explorer is a binary file, we need a special tool to modify it. One of the best ones for this purpose is Resource Hacker. There are of course others that will get the trick done, but we will be using RH this tutorial so I recommend installing it to avoid making mistakes. Install it and let’s continue.
As always before changing anything. you want to back up. So open My Computer and navigate to   and look for explorer. Copy paste it to a safe location on your hard drive.
Now that you’ve backed it up, fire up Resource Hacker and find the same explorer.exe.
When you’ve found and opened explorer in RH, navigate to String Table -> 37 -> 1033. The “start” value is on line 4, after the 578. Change the text “start” to anything you want, making sure you keep the quotes.
Press the Compile Script button to make Resource Hacker put together the code. Now click File and Save the script as explorer.exe. into C: \WINDOWS\inf or another C: \WINDOWS subfolder.
Note: make sure you choose Save AS, NOT just save!!
And that’s all for the first step! Now let’s move onto the second one -modifying the registry.




Microsoft Windows XP usually shows icons for folders like My Music and My Pictures. If a folder contains pictures, Windows XP displays random thumbnails from within the folder. You can replace these icons with custom pictures to make browsing your files more fun, and to make it easier for children to find and open files.
Note: Your picture is visible only when you're browsing folder with thumbnails view. To access the Thumbnails view, click Thumbnails on the View menu.
To add a picture to a folder
1.
In Windows Explorer (the program that appears when you open folders such as My Computer, My Documents, My Pictures, or My Music), right-click the folder you want to add a picture to, and then click Properties.
2.
In the Properties dialog box, click the Customize tab. If there is no Customize tab, you cannot add a picture to that folder. You can add pictures to other folders, however.
3.
On the Customize tab, click Choose Picture.
4.
In the Browse dialog box, click the picture you want to use, and then click Open.
5.
Click OK.
When you view the folder using Thumbnails view, Windows displays a thumbnail of the picture you selected.




If you’re listening to music on your computer, and you want a quick way to turn the volume up or down, you can create a shortcut icon for your volume control and put it in the taskbar. That way it’s always right at your fingertips. Otherwise, you’ll need to go into the Sounds and Audio Devices category in your Control Panel whenever you want to adjust the volume.
To add the volume control icon to your taskbar
1.
Click Start, and then click Control Panel.
2.
Click Sounds, Speech, and Audio Devices.
3.
Under Pick a task, click Change the speaker settings.
4.
In the Sounds and Audio Devices Properties box, click the Volume tab, and select the Place volume icon in the taskbar check box. Then, click OK.
Now when you want to adjust the volume, you can just click the speaker icon in the taskbar and move the slider.
Note: You might need to click on the left-facing arrow button (<) on the taskbar to display the audio icon.
To learn how to organize this section of your taskbar, read organize your notification area.




Do you have a folder that you'd like to be able to open quickly and easily whenever you want? If you create a keyboard shortcut for that folder, you can open it anytime by pressing a key combination, no matter which other programs you have open.
To create a keyboard shortcut to open a folder
1.
Click on Start, All Programs, Accessories, and then click Windows Explorer.
2.
In Windows Explorer (the program that appears when you open folders such as My Computer, My Documents, My Pictures, or My Music), right-click the folder to which you want instant access, click Send To, and then click Desktop.
3.
On your desktop, right-click the new shortcut, and then click Properties.
4.
On the Shortcut tab, click in the Shortcut key box. Now press the letter on your keyboard that you want to use to open the folder.
Note: In the Shortcut key box, Microsoft Windows XP automatically adds CTRL+ALT before the key you press, because to use the shortcut to open a folder, you have to hold down both the CTRL and ALT keys simultaneously, while pressing the letter you chose. This way, your folder won't open every time you type that letter.
5.
Click OK.
6.
Now test your shortcut. Hold down the CTRL and ALT keys, and then press the letter you chose.
This tip can be applied to folders, programs, and text file shortcuts that are placed on the desktop. For more keyboard shortcuts, read tired of chasing your mouse use key board short cut keys.






1.
Click the Settings menu, and then click Typing Mode.

2.
In the Typing Mode dialog box, click your preferred method of selecting keys. Then, click OK.


2.
In the Typing Mode dialog box, click your preferred method of selecting keys. Then, click OK.

2.
In the Typing Mode dialog box, click your preferred method of selecting keys. Then, click OK.

The On-Screen Keyboard simplifies text entry for users who prefer using a pointing device. For more information about Windows XP accessibility features, read set up accessbility features.





To make a shortcut on your desktop to launch the On-Screen Keyboard

1.
Right-click your desktop, point to New, and click Shortcut.

2.
In the location field, type osk. Then click Next.
3.
Type On-Screen Keyboard. Then, click Finish.
That's it! The shortcut to the On-Screen Keyboard utility is on your desktop.


Microsoft Windows XP includes the On-Screen Keyboard for those who prefer using a mouse or other pointing device (rather than a physical keyboard) to enter text. Different typing modes allow you to select a key by clicking, hovering over a key for a specific number of seconds, or using a joystick. You can start the on screen keyboard using the start menue If you use the On-Screen Keyboard regularly, add short cut to your desktop to make it easier to open.

Start the On-Screen Keyboard using the Start menu

To launch the On-Screen Keyboard
1.
Click Start, All Programs, Accessories, Accessibility, and then On-Screen Keyboard.
2.
The On-Screen Keyboard and On-Screen Keyboard dialog box appear. Click OK.
You can now use the On-Screen Keyboard by clicking the buttons with your mouse. To hold down the SHIFT, CTRL, or ALT keys, just click them once, and the keys will stay pressed until you click the next key.



windows tips and tricks
free counters